The Loch Carron Series by Janet Head

The Laird’s Daughters (The Loch Carron Series Book 1)

Janet1It is the year 1312 in the turbulent highlands of Scotland.
Nineteen year old Katherine Frazer, daughter of Laird Frazer, is a prisoner in her own home. Suddenly, she finds herself married to David MacDonald, the soon to be chieftain of the MacDonald’s of Loch Carron.

Along with her cousin Helen Urquhart, she is whisked away from her overprotective father to Loch Carron. Naive in many ways, Katherine finds out what is required of the wife of the next chieftain of clan MacDonald. The MacDonald men are warriors, fighting for both their clan and Scotland but are also husbands, fathers and farmers, and are passionate about their dancing, their fighting, and when they make love. In the hash times they live, the need to survive controls all the decisions they make including treaties, betrothals and who will live and who will die. They will kill whenever it is necessary to protect their clan and family. You are guilty until proven otherwise.

The MacDonald women a different to the woman of other clans, as some chose to become Chevaleresses “French for female knight” and fight beside their men.

Buy Now RRP $30

The Casimir Effect (The Loch Carron Series Book 2)

Janet2The year is 1313. The MacDonalds discover a woman half frozen outside their castle. Janet Hendrick finds herself in a MacDonald castle, frightened and feeling alone. She is launched into a quest of survival to find her way home.With the burden of a secret, she is terrified she will be found out. Janet needs to tread carefully as the men who were her rescuers, could also end her life.

Befriended by, William, the MacDonalds’ Doctor, she finds some comfort but there is something about him she feels; he too, has a secret to hide. Janet falls in love with the seasoned warrior, Sir Alexander MacDonald, igniting for both, a passion long forgotten. But will he reject her when he finds out who she is?

Danger surrounds her as she makes her way, trying to find her Grandfather, the Baron of Kintail, a man who is an enemy of the MacDonalds. She finds herself thrown into the battle of Bannock Burn, which leads her to Eilean Donan Castle, home, of the Baron. Her adventure continues involving kidnapping and a handsome stranger who has secrets of his own. Will she find her way back to the MacDonalds or home again to see her children?

Buy Now RRP $30

Check Mate (The Loch Carron Series Book 3)

Janet3What now? Alexander, Gautier, Robert and Janet, have flicked back into the twenty-first century. How will the men adapt, and will this bring conflict between Janet and Alexander, who wants to keep some old ideas in place?

Exploring the new world, they need an income. Once more the adventurers are on the move, treasure hunting. Clues lead to the great cathedral, St Peter and Paul, in Troyes, France. Gautier still has feelings for Janet, leading to altercations, but also he has to face his past as he and Robert realise something they have to do.

The men disappear without Janet. She is lost, but once more is flung into survival mode, when she searches for them. Will she met up with Alexander again, and what will she find if she returns to the MacDonalds of loch Carron?

Buy Now RRP $30

People of the Mist (The Loch Carron Series Book 4)

Janet41317-1320 The men are back in their own time again. Gautier and Robert are adapting, subtly introducing modern methods. Alexander is finding it hard and is missing someone. James, one of Duncan’s sons is now sixteen, and falls in love, but will the clan allow him to have his way. He and his brother Thomas, learns a lesson the hard way, and forces Duncan’s heart to be yet again torn between the love for his family, and the good of the clan.

Others are having problems with their wives, Gerald among them; will he turn to someone else for comfort? Katherine is making waves and upsetting the knights. Lachlan puts her in her place. Fergus is betrothed, but she no ordinary woman. Some MacDonalds insist to do their duty, which leads them into the arms of Neil Campbell, chief of the Campbells. MacDonalds try a daring rescue, which will have repercussions in years to come.

Several young members have to prove themselves in order for them to progress forward. This could lead to disastrous consequences and with the addition of six ladies-in-waiting’s; hormones begin to race in the MacDonald castle.
Four people arrive in the castle. Three are not who they are meant to be, and tug at the MacDonalds chief’s heart strings. Two MacDonalds will leave; one forever and, Gautier’s heart is broken once more.

Buy Now RRP $30

This entry was posted in Historical Fiction, Janet Heads, Romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s